2014 Brisbane Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

June 4th, 2014

Just eleven runners have been confirmed for a tilt at the 2014 Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m) at Eagle Farm Racecourse this weekend; highlighted by several notable performers in events throughout the 2014 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival so-far.

Moriarty has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 Brisbane Cup

Moriarty has been confirmed in the final field for the 2014 Brisbane Cup. Photo: Daniel Costello

Strolling home to win the Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup (2200m) last weekend, trainer Chris Waller has confirmed Moriarty to back-up in the Brisbane Cup this weekend.

Steadily building to the task at hand this time in, Moriarty finished mid-pack in both the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) before completing a run of three consecutive fifth place finishes in the Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes (2000m), Group 2 Hollindale Stakes (1800m) and Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) prior to last weekend’s triumph.

Allocated barrier 8, Waller is confident leading jockey Nash Rawiller will once again get the best from his entrant this weekend.

Also confirmed in the final field for the 2014 Brisbane Cup is classy Team Hawkes-trained stayer Zephyron.

Aiming for a third consecutive victory when lining up for the Brisbane Cup, Zephyron strolled home to win the Listed Lord Mayor’s Cup (2000m) on May 10th before repeating the dose in the Group 3 Premier’s Cup (2200m) last time out.

Charged with overcoming barrier 10, the Zabeel gelding has been confirmed to be partnered by Premier’s Cup partner Glen Boss this weekend and is likely to settle off the pace before charging home late.

Finishing second to Moriarty in the Eagle Farm Cup, trainer Ciaron Maher is confident the increase in distance of the Brisbane Cup will play into the strengths of Mr O’Ceirin this weekend.

Claiming a total of ten victories and six minor places from 32 competitive race starts, Mr O’Ceirin has produced a notable four race preparation this time in; overcoming a disappointing run for eleventh in the Group 3 Victoria Handicap (1400m) first-up with an impressive performance for second in the Hollindale Stakes and unlucky seventh when blocked for a run in the Doomben Cup.

Offered a great chance at a maiden race win this time in from barrier 6 this weekend, Mr O’Ceirin will be partnered by talented jockey Blake Shinn.

The biggest winner at Wednesday’s barrier draw for the 2014 Brisbane Cup, talented kiwi Historian is also offered a great chance at maiden success across the ditch this weekend.

A mainstay in major events in his native New Zealand, Historian returned to racing this time in with an impressive performance for first in the Group 3 Spring Sprint (1400m) on October 5th, continually building in form and class on his way to an impressive victory in the Group 1 Zabeel Classic (2000m) on Boxing Day and unlucky second to Silent Achiever in the Group 1 New Zealand Stakes (2000m) most notably on March 8th.

While unable to figure when blocked for a run in the Lord Mayor’s Cup last time out, trainer Gary Alton is confident the Choisir gelding will be far-better for the first-up run and is expecting a polished performance this weekend.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on the 2014 Brisbane Cup!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250 in time for this weekend’s impressive Eagle Farm race card!

2014 Brisbane Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 3×83465551 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller Nash Rawiller 8 59.5kg 109
2 9x02116x32 PRECEDENCE (NZ) Bart & James Cummings Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 108
3 2×17510250 HISTORIAN (NZ) Gary Alton Tye Angland 1 57.5kg 105
4 12100×0272 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher Blake Shinn 6 57kg 104
5 4131×85011 ZEPHYRON (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Glen Boss 10 55.5kg 101
6 61357×2464 ZENNISTA (NZ) Lisa Latta Mark Du Plessis 9 54kg 102
7 361×287263 FLORIA (NZ) Peter G Moody Kerrin McEvoy 11 53kg 99
8 19×7799513 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson Ryan Wiggins 2 53kg 97
9 9601220030 SKYSOBLUE (NZ) Graeme Sanders Jim Byrne 5 53kg 94
10 7015×43588 RAEBURN Brian Smith Anthony Allen (a) 4 53kg 86
11 7174 FALAMONTE (NZ) Robbie Laing 7 53kg 64